Spoon Announces 20th Anniversary Vinyl Edition Of “Kill The Moonlight”

Spoonthe fourth album of, kill the moonlightturns 20 on August 20, and to celebrate, the band is reissue it on white vinyl via Matador’s Revisionist History Series. It comes out on September 9 and you can preorder it now.

To accompany the vinyl, Matador will release videos of the album’s singles with commentary by Britt Daniel. Here’s what he says about the video for “The Way We Get By”:

Here’s one of those videos where I’m still trying to figure out what’s going on. I remember we were working on a photo of me doing a suggestive transfer of a seemingly nefarious package, and a loose spy story that needed to be complemented by a little performance done on the sidewalk without a permit. Shot in a few hours in Chinatown on a 19-day van tour where we had no days off, the package handover sequence had to be removed from the edit because MTV deemed it too revealing of a drug traffic. I don’t know what happened to the rest of the story, but this thing holds up pretty well. The video was directed by Steve Hanft who had, among other things, years earlier directed a movie I had never heard of called Kill The Moonlight. I thought I discovered this phrase in a futuristic manifesto from the beginning of the 19th century. Well, I had. But so is he. Imagine me trying to explain that to him on set when he thought our album referenced his movie. Steve had also shot the music video for Beck’s song, Loser, and Beck released an album a month after ours that contained a song called Paper Tiger, just like Kill The Moonlight. It’s universe type shit.

Watch the video “The Way We Get By” below.

Spoon will be touring with Interpol – whose debut album Turn on the bright lights will also turn 20 on Saturday – from August 25 at the Stone Pony Summer Stage at Asbury Park. The tour was supposed to be with The Goon Sax, who recently announced they had broken up, and now The water from your eyes will open the visit. All dates are listed below.

You can also get the latest from Spoon, Lucifer on the couchand more of their vinyl albums in the BV Shop.

spoon kill the moonlight revisionist history

SPOON – 2022 TOUR DATES
Thursday August 25 Stone Pony Summer Stage, Asbury Park NJ %
Friday August 26 Budweiser Stage, Toronto ON #
Saturday, August 27 Thompson’s Point, Portland ME %
Sunday, August 28 Bold Point Pavilion, Providence RI %
Tuesday, August 30 KEMBA Live! Exterior, Columbus OH%
Thursday, September 1 Andrew J. Brady Music Center, Cincinnati OH%
Saturday September 3 Rabbit Rabbit, Asheville NC %
Sunday September 4 Ryman Auditorium, Nashville TN%
Tuesday, September 6 AE Outdoors Stage, Pittsburgh PA %
Thursday, September 8 TCU Amphitheater in White River Park, Indianapolis IN %
Friday, September 9 Stifel Theatre, St. Louis MO%
Saturday, September 10 The Criterion, Oklahoma City OK %
Tuesday, September 13 The Theater at Virgin Hotels Las Vegas, Las Vegas NV %
Wednesday, September 14 Vina Robles Amphitheater, Paso Robles CA %
Friday September 16 Paramount Theatre, Seattle WA%
Saturday, September 17 Pioneer Courthouse Square, Portland GOLD %
Sunday, September 18 Pioneer Courthouse Square, Portland GOLD %
Thursday, October 6 Toulouse Theatre, New Orleans LA
Friday, October 7 Toulouse Theater, New Orleans LA
Sunday October 9 Austin City Limits Festival, Austin TX
Tuesday, October 11 Cain’s Ballroom, Tulsa OK
Wednesday, October 12 Party For The Parks, Zilker Park, Austin TX
Saturday, October 15 Tannahill’s Tavern & Music Hall, Fort Worth TX
Sunday October 16 Austin City Limits Festival, Austin TX
Saturday November 19 Corona Capital Festival, Mexico City MX

# Metric, Interpol,
% with Interpol, the water of your eyes

Jack L. Goldstein