KMAland Boys Track (5/5): RVC CAM Champion Edges POI CD Champion, LeMars Wins MRC | Sports

(KMAland) – RVC CAM champion edged out POI Central Decatur champion at Southwest Valley, LeMars won MRC, IKM-Manning and Auburn took second place at SCC & Sabetha and more from Thursday on the boys track from KMAland.

Hawkeye Ten Conference (at the Atlantic)

The Lewis Central boys won a second straight championship. Find the full recap on KMA’s local sports news page.

Southwest Valley Encounter

CAM edged Central Decatur in a battle of regional conference champions, finishing with 111.75 points to the Cardinals’ 110.75. Lenox had 74.75 in third while Stanton was fifth at 64.

Other area schools competing (in order of finish): Southwest Valley, Nodaway Valley, Griswold, Sidney, East Mills, AHSTW, Bedford, East Union, Wayne, Central Decatur JV and Essex.

The Cougars had individual victories from Lane Spieker in the 100 (11.62), Cale Maas in the 400 (53.08) and Jack Follmann in the 400 hurdles (59.23). Follmann, Spieker and Maas teamed with Gabe Rouse to win the sprint medley relay (1:39.92).

Central Decatur’s evening was led by strong relay wins from their 4×100 (45.98), 4×200 (1:35.46), 4×800 (8:54.34) and Shuttle Obstacle (1 : 03.03). Trey Hullinger raced to a 200 (24.01) win and Vincent Carcamo was the 800 champion (2:07.29). Trey and Tyke Hullinger, Champ Walker and Evahn Jones were all on the 4×100 and 4×200 while Gunnar Smith, Isaiah Brunk, Tate Swartz and Carcamo made up the 4×8. Tyke Hullinger, Jack Scrivner, Riley Norman and Matthew Boothe were the quartet to win the SHR.

Lenox, Stanton, Nodaway Valley, Sidney and Bedford all had one win apiece. Johnathan Weaver of Lenox was the 110 hurdles champion (15.72), Doug Berg of Nodaway Valley won the 3200 (10:39.53), Cale Swain of Griswold won the long jump (20-06.00 ), Matthew Benedict of Sidney was the winner in the high jump (6-02.00) and Randy Howard of Bedford took the shot put (40-07.50). Stanton’s 4×400 (3:43.47) closed the encounter with a victory, using the team of Nolan Grebin, Logan Roberts, Carter Johnson and Evan Gettler.

See the full match results linked here.

panorama invite

Coon Rapids-Bayard had 88 points in fifth while Audubon scored 66 in sixth. Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton and Tri-Center finished ninth and 11th respectively.

The great evening for the Crusaders came behind the victories in the discus (134-04) by Lance Clayburg and in the high jump (5-10) by Gabe Obert.

Audubon’s Gavin Smith had a big night with wins in the 110 hurdles (15.19) and 400 hurdles (56.10). Smith also anchored the winning shuttle hurdle relay (1:02.80) behind Aaron Olsen, Brandon Jensen and Carter Andreasen.

Exira/EHK also picked up a win on the night, earning a 200 (23.29) win from Cash Emgarten.

See the full match results linked here.

Jim Yunek Relay (in South Central Calhoun)

IKM-Manning had 82 points and finished second in the Jim Yunek relays. Ar-We-Va scored 54 and took sixth place while Glidden-Ralston finished ninth with 26.

Caden Keller had his hands in all three Wolves wins. He won the 1600 (4:50.18) and 3200 (10:11.59) before teaming up with Jase Lueth, Eli Dreyer and Jaxon Doyel to win the medley distance (3:53.36).

Ar-We-Va’s Cooper Kock was also a three-time winner with wins in the 110 hurdles (14.70) and high jump (6-00.00). He also anchored the Shuttle Hurdle Relay (1:08.30) to a win, joining Will Ragaller and Braeden and Conner Kirsch.

See the full match results linked here.

Newton’s Cardinal Relays

The Southeast Warren and Twin Cedars track teams were present at the Newton Cardinal Relays. Southeast Warren’s Ronan Jimenez won the 3200 (10:39.90).

See the full match results below.

Missouri River Conference Championships (at Council Bluffs)

LeMars was the winner of the Missouri River Conference championships on Thursday, scoring 169 points to edge Sioux City North’s 146. Bishop Heelan Catholic took third place with 107, and Sergeant Bluff-Luton and Sioux City East had 90 points apiece. Abraham Lincoln, Thomas Jefferson and Sioux City West completed the scoring.

LeMars notched a pair of victories over Brandon VanderSluis, who won the discus (164-09) and shot put (59-06.00) championships. Sione Fifita added victories in the high jump (6-01.00) and 200 (22.74), and Reece Spieler and Konnor Calhoun won the 110 hurdles (15.84) and 400 hurdles (56.83) respectively.

The Bulldogs won the sprint medley (1:35.93), shuttle hurdle (1:03.24) and 4×100 (43.39). Matt Vondrak, Beau Wadle, Spieler and CaeL kiss raced for the SMR, Ryan and Riley Sadoski, David Leusink and Calhoun were on the SHR and Ryan Sadoski, Fifita, Leusink and Kass were on the 4×1.

Will Lohr and Gabe Nash of Sioux City North each won two individual events. Lohr won the 3200 (10:09.13) and 800 (1:58.80) while Nash won the 400 (49.79) and 1600 (4:40.63). Demarco Young, Dylan Nguyen, Lorcan Christensen and Natnael Kifle raced to victory in the medley distance (3:43.45), and Yemane and Natnael Kifle, Lohr and Nash were on the winning 4×400 (3:28.08) .

Aiden Kuehl of Bishop Heelan Catholic won the long jump (21-03.50) and the 100 (11.38). He also raced with Ricky Feauto, Liam Cleary and Kannon Bork to win the 4×200 (1:32.57).

Sergeant Bluff-Luton was also the winner in the 4×800 (8:37.04) with Easton Wheeler, Carter Eldridge, Gannon Aymar and Carlos Rodriguez.

See the full match results below.

Irish Relay (in Lafayette)

The Maryville boys finished with 76.5 points and finished fifth in the Irish relays.

Jesus Flores-Hernandez led the way for the Spoofhounds with a first place finish in the high jump (1.90m). See the full match results linked here.

Sabetha Invitational

The Auburn boys scored 90 points and finished in second place at the Sabetha Invitational.

Ryan Binder won the 400m (51.18) and the long jump (20-02) to pave the way for the Bulldogs. Cameron Shriver took a victory in the 200m and Rylan Boellstorff, Tate Hug, Nixon Ligouri and Burke Moody took a victory in the 4x100m (46.67).

See the full results below.

Thank you for reading

At KMA, we try to be accurate in our reports. If you see a typo or mistake in a story, please email us at [email protected]

Jack L. Goldstein