Depeche Mode’s 12″ vinyl singles project continues with the release of “Playing The Angel”

Rhino’s Depeche Mode 12″ vinyl singles project continues with the release of Playing The Angel | The 12″ Singles on November 11, 2022.

Play the angel | The 12″ Singles, a deluxe collector’s edition box set, contains ten 12″ vinyl records featuring singles – ‘Precious’, ‘A Pain That I’m Used To’, ‘Suffer Well’ and ‘John The Revelator/Lilian’ – alongside B-sides, remixes, instrumentals, dubbed versions and other contemporary recordings from Depeche Mode’s 11th studio album, Playing The Angel, originally released in October 2005.

Play the angel | The 12″ Singles features electrifying remixes of Depeche Mode originals, including a disc dedicated to “The Darkest Star”, the track from which Playing The Angel takes its title. The box’s tenth disc is newly compiled for this collection, collecting B-sides and mixes first released on CD and maxi-singles throughout the Playing The Angel campaign.

Depeche Mode’s first album to be produced with Ben Hillier, Playing The Angel found the classic DM lineup (Dave Gahan, Martin Gore, Andrew Fletcher), 25 years into the band’s history, breaking new ground sound with a raw and grainier sound. the cosmic spiritual connection between rock’s primitive roots and pulsating 21st century techno dance floors around the world. The Playing The Angel campaign continued Depeche Mode’s tradition of releasing monumental 12-inch singles to compliment and supplement their album releases. Playing The Angel created essential new additions to the DM canon, including “Precious”, “A Pain That I’m Used To”, “Suffer Well”, “John The Revelator”, “Lilian”, “The Darkest Star”, and more.

From their earliest days as a band, Depeche Mode have championed 12″ vinyl, embracing the format’s singular power and potential for innovation. The 12″ single allowed the band to explore new sonic possibilities while the real-world tactile beauty of the physical packaging gave Depeche Mode the opportunity to develop their ever-sophisticated and commanding design aesthetic. Depeche Mode used his singles discography as a way to provide fans with the opportunity to enjoy left-field remixes, rare B-sides, standout concert performances, and other exclusive delights.

Rhino has released the first two box sets of the Depeche Mode 12″ singles series – Speak & Spell | Singles and a broken frame | The Singles–in August 2018 with the second batch–Construction Time Again | 12″ singles and a great reward | The 12″ Singles – arriving December 2018. Rhino released Depeche Mode’s Black Celebration | 12″ singles and music for the masses | The 12″ Singles on May 31, 2019. 2020 saw the release of Violator | 12″ singles in July and Songs of Faith and Devotion | The Singles 12″ in October. The ninth collection in the series, Ultra | The 12″ Singles was released on September 27, 2021 with the tenth volume, Exciter | The 12″ Singles, arriving June 10, 2022.

Each box set in the series contains the singles from each Depeche Mode album on audiophile-grade 12″ vinyl, with audio mastered from the original tapes. The artwork on the outside of each of the box sets draws from the iconography inspired by the original releases, while the vinyl sleeves themselves feature the original unique artwork.

The Depeche Mode 12″ Singles series will continue over the next few years, with plans to release boxes containing the singles from each of the band’s albums in similar audiophile-grade deluxe collector’s editions.

Play the angel | 12″ singles
Precious (12BONG 35) / LP01
A1 Precious (Sasha Spooky Mix – Full Length)
A2 Precious (Sasha’s gargantuan vocal mix – full length)
Precious (L12BONG35) / LP02
A1 Precious (Misc. Full Vocal Mix)
A2 Precious (Michael Mayer Balearic Mix)
B1 Precious (Remix Engine)
B2 Precious (Various Crunch Mix)
A Pain I’m Used To (12BONG 36) / LP03
A1 A pain I’m used to (Jacques Lu Cont Remix)
AA1 A pain I’m used to (Jacques Lu Cont Dub)
A Pain I’m Used To (L12BONG 36) / LP04
A1 A Pain I’m Used To (Bitstream Threshold Mix)
AA1 A Pain I’m Used To (Bitstream Spansule Mix)
Suffer Well (12BONG 37) / LP05
A1 suffers well (Tiga Remix)
A2 suffers well (Tiga Dub)
B1 Suffer Well (Narcotic Thrust Vocal Dub)
Suffer Well (L12BONG 37) / LP06
A1 Suffer Well (Metope Remix)
A2 Suffer Well (Metope Vocal Remix)
B1 suffers well (M83 Remix)
B2 Better Days (vocal mix of Basteroid ‘Dance Is Gone’)
The Darkest Star (XL12BONG 37) / LP07
A1 The Darkest Star (Holden Remix)
AA1 The Darkest Star (Holden Dub)
John the Revealer / Lilian (12BONG 38) / L08
A1 John The Revelator (“Dave’s in the Disco” Tiefschwarz Remix)
AA1 John The Revelator (Tiefschwarz Dub)
AA2 Lilian (Chab Dub)
John the Revealer / Lilian (L12BONG 38) / LP09
A1 John The Revelator (Murk Mode Dub)
AA1 John The Revelator (Boosta Club Remix)
AA2 Lilian (Chab Vocal Remix)
Play Angel Promotional Collection (PSTUMM260) / LP10
(newly compiled exclusive limited edition)
A1 Free
A2 better days
A3 newborn
A4 John the Revealer (single version)
A5 Lilian (single version)
B1 Precious (Michael Mayer Ambient Mix)
B2 Suffer Well (Alter Ego Remix)
B3 Lilian (Robag Wruhme Slomoschen Kikker)
B4 A Pain I’m Used To (Goldfrapp Remix)
B5 A Pain I’m Used To (Telex Remix)

Jack L. Goldstein