CD Bidasoa Irún 29-37 Barça: Champions of the Asobal Cup!

Barça are champions of the Copa Sacyr Asobal! The Catalans beat CD Bidasoa Irún 37-29 in the final to add another trophy to their collection, their 17th victory in the competition and their 11th in a row. All that remains this season for Carlos Ortega’s team is the Champions League quarter-final in Cologne on June 18 and 19.

Even start

After a close start to the match, Barça gradually took control in the first half. The Blaugranes led 15-10 before a small response from Bidasoa reduced Barca’s lead to 17-14 at the break.

In the second half, Carlos Ortega’s team took control of the final. Fàbragas added his four goals in the first half and Aleix Gómez and Yussef Benali also shone in attack for the Catalans.

In the end, Barca extended their lead to eight to claim a memorable 37-29 victory to add the Asobal Cup to the Spanish Super Cup, the Catalunya Super Cup, Copa del Rey and Asobal to the list of success in 2021/22.


CD Bidasoa Irun29

CD Bidasoa Irun: Xoan Ledo (-), Adrián Fernández (2), Aguinagalde (1), Eneko Furundarena (3), Odriozola (8), Iñaki Cavero (3), Mikel Zabala (1) -starting seven-, José Manuel Sierra (- ), Matheus Da Silva (1), Tesoriere (-), Dariel García (1), Tao Gey-Emparan (1), Iribar (2), Gorka Nieto (2), Ugarte (4).

Barca: Pérez de Vargas (-), Thiagus Petrus (-), Fàbregas (6), Dika Mem (3), Langaro (2), Aleix Gómez (7), Ángel Fernández (3) -starting 7-, Maciel (- ), Cindric (1), Ali Zein (2), Luís Frade (2), Richardson (2), Makuc (-), Blaz Janc (4), Yussef Benali (4), Aitor Ariño (1).

Jack L. Goldstein